JOHN MACKEY AWARD

BEST COLLEGIATE TIGHT END

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: media@johnmackeyaward.com



2015 JOHN MACKEY AWARD SEMI-FINALISTS ANNOUNCED

New York, N.Y. (November 16, 2015) – The Friends of John Mackey have announced eight semi-finalists for the 2015 John Mackey Award. Listed alphabetically, they are Jake Butt (JR, Michigan), Billy Freeman (JR, San Jose State), Hunter Henry (JR, Arkansas), Bucky Hodges (SO, Virginia Tech), Austin Hooper (SO, Stanford), O.J. Howard (JR, Alabama), Jordan Leggett (JR, Clemson) and Jake McGee (SR, Florida).

The eight semi-finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the 2015 John Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 9, 2015 and presented live on December 10, 2015 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2015 Mackey Finalists on November 24, 2015. All future announcements can be found at www.johnmackeyaward.com and on our official twitter account: @JohnMackeyAward.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes thirteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07), Chase Coffman ('08) of the Tennessee Titans, D.J. Williams ('10), Dwayne Allen ('11) of the Indianapolis Colts, Tyler Eifert ('12) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and 2014 John Mackey Award recipient Nick O'Leary of the Buffalo Bills.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

Beginning in 2015, The Home Depot College Football Awards will have a new home at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Airing live on ESPN on December 10, 2015, college football's brightest stars will be honored for their performance on and off the field.

The Friends of John Mackey are responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit www.johnmackeyaward.com for all John Mackey Award related information.

2015 John Mackey Award Semi-Finalists

(Listed alphabetically)

Jake Butt (JR, Michigan)

Billy Freeman (JR, San Jose State)

Hunter Henry (JR, Arkansas)

Bucky Hodges (SO, Virginia Tech)

Austin Hooper (SO, Stanford)

O.J. Howard (JR, Alabama)

Jordan Leggett (JR, Clemson)

Jake McGee (SR, Florida)

-###-