JOHN MACKEY AWARD

BEST COLLEGIATE TIGHT END

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: media@johnmackeyaward.com

Text



2014 JOHN MACKEY AWARD MIDSEASON WATCH LIST RELEASED

New York, N.Y. (October 13, 2014) – The John Mackey Award has released the 2014 John Mackey Award Midseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2014 John Mackey recipient will be announced on December 10, 2014 and then presented live on December 11, 2014 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. Upcoming key dates include the announcement of the 2014 Mackey Semi-finalists on November 17, 2014 and the 2014 Mackey Finalists on November 24, 2014. All future announcements can be found at www.iohnmackeyaward.com.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists thirteen alumni to have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07), Chase Coffman ('08) of the Tennessee Titans, Aaron Hernandez ('09), D.J. Williams ('10), Dwayne Allen ('11) of the Indianapolis Colts, Tyler Eifert ('12) of the Cincinnati Bengals and Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

2014 John Mackey Award Midseason Watch List

(in alphabetical order)

First Name	Last Name	Year	School
Rory	Anderson	Sr	South Carolina
Kennard	Backman	Sr	UAB
EJ	Bibbs	Sr	Iowa St
Gerald	Christian	Sr	Louisville
Evan	Engram	So	Ole Miss
Billy	Freeman	So	San Jose St
David	Grinnage	So	NC State
Connor	Hamlett	Sr	Oregon St
Mitchell	Henry	Sr	WKU

(continued)

Jeff	Heuerman	Sr	Ohio St
Bucky	Hodges	Fr	Virginia Tech
Austin	Hooper	So	Stanford
OJ	Howard	So	Alabama
Jesse	James	Jr	Penn St
Malcolm	Johnson	Sr	Mississippi St
Ben	Koyack	Sr	Notre Dame
Tyler	Kroft	Jr	Rutgers
Jimmay	Mundine	Sr	Kansas
Nick	O'Leary	Sr	Florida St
Casey	Pierce	Sr	Kent St
Joel	Ruiz	Jr	Georgia St
Tyreese	Russell	Sr	Eastern Michigan
Wes	Saxton	Sr	South Alabama
Cam	Serigne	Fr	Wake Forest
Jean	Sifrin	Jr	Massachusetts
Justin	Sinz	Sr	Purdue
Jonnu	Smith	So	FIU
Randall	Telfer	Sr	USC
Eric	Tomlinson	Sr	UTEP
CJ	Uzomah	Sr	Auburn
Clive	Walford	Sr	Miami, FL
Alex	Welch	Sr	Miami, OH
Maxx	Williams	So	Minnesota

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

The Friends of John Mackey is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit http://www.johnmackeyaward.com to check out our new and improved website for all John Mackey Award related information.